Skip to main content
  • Photography
  • Tour
  • Public Art

"For the Time Being" - Photo exhibition by Vanishing Berlin

Alexander Steffen / Vanishing Berlin in collaboration with noquestionsasked & Inhis Tenament

Barrierefreier Zugang
28 June 2024 19:00–23:00 29 June 2024 13:00–23:00 30 June 2024 13:00–19:00
City centres being sold out, underground scenes and neighbourhood identities being displaced, the associated underlying feelings of loss; all these are worldwide phenomena. Today the faces of many cities are characterised by soulless architecture, conformity and surging rents.

Since 2009 Alexander Steffen takes photographs of transient landmarks all over the city, documenting the process of change within the urban environment. Vanishing Berlin captures the places that we will remember wistfully, though we did not think we would ever miss them. Focusing mainly on wastelands, storefronts and brick walls. These places characterise Berlin, but equally they are vanishing at an unprecedented pace.

In the former premises of "Willy Schmidt - Steinmetzmeister", photographic works on the theme of "Urban Silence" and new exhibits from the screen print series "The Tattooed City" will be presented as part of the 48h Neukölln Festival. The Tante Frizzante event garden invites you to linger. Various sound performances, including by the Berlin label noquestionsasked, are planned as part of the exhibition. More information will be available from the beginning of June at: www.vanishing.berlin

Biography

Alexander Steffen / Vanishing Berlin in collaboration with noquestionsasked & Inhis Tenament

Alexander Steffen (*1967) was born and raised in West-Berlin. He studied Political Sciences at the Freie Universität Berlin, trained at Dirk Nishen publishing house. Discovered Allen Ginsberg and Reality Sandwiches. Edited a photobiography of William S. Burroughs. Spent time exploring the techno clubs and ruins of Berlin’s new centre after the fall of the wall. Was director of the art gallery transition from 1999-2005. Has been working for the Berlin International Film Festival (Berlinale) since 2005. 2009 marks the start of the Vanishing Berlin project. Since then several exhibitions and publications.

Venue

Hermannstr. 100
Steinmetzmeister Willy Schmidt
12051 Berlin
Germany

Willy Schmidt Steinmetzmeister / Tante Frizzante

Contact

017645644341

Accessibility

Barrierefreier Zugang

Direkt zum Inhalt
  • Fotografie
  • Führung
  • Kunst im öffentlichen Raum

"In der Zwischenzeit" - Fotoausstellung von Vanishing Berlin

Alexander Steffen / Vanishing Berlin in collaboration with noquestionsasked & Inhis Tenament

Barrierefreier Zugang
Fr., 28.06. 19:00–23:00 Uhr Sa., 29.06. 13:00–23:00 Uhr So., 30.06. 13:00–19:00 Uhr
Der Ausverkauf der Innenstädte, die Verdrängung von Sub- und Kiezkultur und damit verbunden ein Grundgefühl des Verlusts sind ein weltweites Phänomen. Das Bild vieler Großstädte ist heute zunehmend geprägt von seelenloser Architektur, Konformität und steigenden Mieten.

Seit 2009 dokumentiert Alexander Steffen in seinem Projekt Vanishing Berlin den rasant fortschreitenden Prozess der Veränderung des städtischen Raums. Er fotografiert Orte, an die wir uns mit Wehmut erinnern werden, obwohl wir nicht einmal ahnten, dass wir sie jemals vermissen würden. Seine Motive sind vor allem Ladenfronten, Brachen und Brandmauern – flüchtige Sehenswürdigkeiten, quer durch alle Bezirke. Orte, die Berlin charakterisieren und die gleichzeitig in rasantem Tempo aus dem Stadtbild verschwinden.

In den ehemaligen Räumlichkeiten von "Willy Schmidt - Steinmetzmeister" werden im Rahmen des 48h Neukölln Festivals Fotoarbeiten zum Thema "Urbane Stille" sowie neue Exponate aus der Siebdruckserie "Die tätowierte Stadt" präsentiert. Der anliegende Eventgarten von Tante Frizzante lädt zum Verweilen ein. Im Rahmen der Ausstellung sind diverse Soundperformances, u.a. von dem Berliner Label noquestionsasked geplant. Nähere Informationen finden sich ab Anfang Juni unter: www.vanishing.berlin

Kurz-Bio

Alexander Steffen / Vanishing Berlin in collaboration with noquestionsasked & Inhis Tenament

Alexander Steffen (*1967) geboren und aufgewachsen in West-Berlin. Politik-Studium an der Freien Universität Berlin. Ausbildung im Fotoverlag Dirk Nishen am Tempelhofer Berg und in London. Begegnung mit Allen Ginsberg und seinen Reality Sandwiches. Redakteur einer Fotobiografie über William S. Burroughs. Nach dem Mauerfall unterwegs in den Techno Clubs und Ruinen von Berlins neuer Mitte. Von 1999 bis 2005 Betreiber der Galerie und Agentur transition in der Oranienstraße in Kreuzberg. Seit 2005 Mitarbeiter der Berlinale. 2009 Beginn des VANISHING BERLIN Projekts. Seitdem regelmäßige Ausstellungen und Veröffentlichungen.

Ort

Hermannstr. 100
Steinmetzmeister Willy Schmidt
12051 Berlin
Deutschland

Willy Schmidt Steinmetzmeister / Tante Frizzante

Kontakt

017645644341

Barrierefreiheit

Barrierefreier Zugang
Die nächsten 9 Veranstaltungen