Skip to main content
  • Visual Art
  • Installation
  • Public Art

Silent Emotions: Berlin Urbanity between Noise and Sorrow

Camilo Castiblanco

Barrierefreie Toilette
28 June 2024 19:00–23:59 29 June 2024 10:00–23:59 30 June 2024 10:00–19:00
In the midst of the vibrant neighborhood of Neukölln, the project titled "Silent Emotions: Berlin Urbanity between Noise and Sorrow" by Colombian artist Camilo Castiblanco explores the spaces between anonymity and isolation in the capital, particularly in Berlin's public transportation. "Silent Emotions" invites viewers to see the city through the eyes of its residents by presenting exclusive interviews. These personal stories in public transportation reflect the diversity of Berlin experiences with urban silence, even in more sensitive moments like crying on the train. Why are people who cry alone in public transportation left in peace, and how does public weeping confront silence? Where is the warmth in the city? Is there an escape from this coldness?

The centerpieces of the project, which was created for this year's festival, are a captivating auditory installation and a large-scale painting presented in the event space Murx at Karl-Marx-Straße 282. The proximity to the Grenzallee subway station creates a unique connection to urban mobility and the often overlooked moments of silence in the urban context. Encouraged by the festival theme, visitors can linger in the space and, accompanied by the painting, listen to various audio recordings – from moving interviews to captured urban sounds of the capital. The project's intention is to create a deeper connection between Berliners and the city. "Silent Emotions" aims to invite reflection through artistic engagement and involve the Berlin community in a dialogue about the presence of silence in the urban context. The interviews shape the work and confer it a profound dimension.

Biography

Camilo Castiblanco

Camilo Castiblanco (*1994 in Bogotá, lives in Berlin) is an artist, art mediator, and theorist. His artistic practice spans between painting and drawing. His works in painting are characterized by an experimental use of colors and forms, adopting a figurative approach. Castiblanco's work as an art mediator blends with his role as an artist, allowing participatory concepts to be tested in his artistic projects. As a theorist, he engages with performance and explores the political potential of art.

Venue

Karl-Marx-Straße 282
12057 Berlin
Germany

Murx

Accessibility

Barrierefreie Toilette

Direkt zum Inhalt
  • Bildende Kunst
  • Installation
  • Kunst im öffentlichen Raum

Stille Emotionen: Berliner Urbanität zwischen Lärm und Leid

Camilo Castiblanco

Barrierefreie Toilette
Fr., 28.06. 19:00–23:59 Uhr Sa., 29.06. 10:00–23:59 Uhr So., 30.06. 10:00–19:00 Uhr
Inmitten des pulsierenden Stadtteils Neukölln erforscht das Projekt des kolumbianischen Künstlers Camilo Castiblanco mit dem Titel „Stille Emotionen: Berliner Urbanität zwischen Lärm und Leid" die Zwischenräume von Anonymität und Isolation in der Hauptstadt, insbesondere im Berliner öffentlichen Verkehr. „Stille Emotionen" lädt dazu ein, die Stadt durch die Augen ihrer Bewohner*innen zu sehen, indem es exklusive Interviews präsentiert. Diese persönlichen Geschichten im öffentlichen Verkehr spiegeln die Vielfalt der Berliner Erfahrungen mit urbaner Stille wider, selbst in sensibleren Momenten wie dem Weinen in der Bahn. Warum werden Menschen, die allein im öffentlichen Verkehr weinen, in Ruhe gelassen, und wie kommt es dazu, dass das öffentliche Weinen mit Stille konfrontiert wird? Wo ist die Wärme in der Stadt? Gibt es einen Ausweg aus dieser Kälte?

Die Herzstücke des Projekts, das für das diesjährige Festival entwickelt wird, sind eine fesselnde auditive Installation und eine großformatige Malerei, die im Veranstaltungsraum Murx an der Karl-Marx-Straße 282 präsentiert werden. Die Nähe an der U-Bahn-Station Grenzallee schafft eine einzigartige Verbindung zur urbanen Mobilität und den oft übersehenen Momenten der Stille im städtischen Kontext. Ermutigt durch das Festivalthema können Besucher*innen sich in dem Räum aufhalten und, begleitet vom Bild, verschiedenen Audioaufnahmen lauschen – von bewegenden Interviews bis zu eingefangenen urbanen Geräuschen der Hauptstadt. Das Vorhaben des Projekts ist es, eine tiefere Verbindung zwischen Berliner*innen und der Stadt zu schaffen. „Stille Emotionen" zielt darauf ab, durch eine künstlerische Auseinandersetzung zur Reflexion einzuladen und die Berliner Gemeinschaft in einen Dialog über die Präsenz von Stille im urbanen Kontext einzubinden. Die Interviews sind maßgeblich für die Arbeit und verleihen dem Ganzen eine tiefgreifende Dimension.

Kurz-Bio

Camilo Castiblanco

Camilo Castiblanco (*1994 in Bogota, lebt in Berlin) ist ein Künstler, Kunstvermittler und Theoretiker. Seine künstlerische Praxis bewegt sich zwischen Malerei und Grafik. Seine Arbeiten in der Malerei zeichnen sich durch Experimente mit Farben und Formen aus, die figürlich angelegt sind. Castiblancos kunstvermittlerische Tätigkeit vermischt sich mit seiner Arbeit als Künstler, wobei partizipatorische Konzepte erprobt werden. Als Theoretiker beschäftigt er sich mit Performance und dem politischen Potenzial der Kunst.

Ort

Karl-Marx-Straße 282
12057 Berlin
Deutschland

Murx

Barrierefreiheit

Barrierefreie Toilette
Die nächsten 9 Veranstaltungen